Share this Manuscript

You Don't Know My Name Kristen Orlando

Description

Fighter. Faker. Student. Spy.

see full description

On sale now!

add to goodreads

Full Description

Seventeen-year-old Reagan Elizabeth Hillis is used to changing identities overnight, lying to every friend she’s ever had, and pushing away anyone who gets too close. Trained in mortal combat and weaponry her entire life, Reagan is expected to follow in her parents’ footsteps and join the ranks of the most powerful top-secret agency in the world, the Black Angels. Falling in love with the boy next door was never part of the plan.

Now Reagan has to decide: Will she use her incredible talents and lead the dangerous life she was born into, or throw it all away to follow her heart and embrace the normal life she's always wanted? And does she even have a choice at all?

Excerpt

“Reagan, everyone is going on Saturday,” Harper says, in between bites of overcooked meat loaf and runny lunchroom mashed potatoes. “You’ll be, like, the only senior not there.”

“I’d rather eat glass,” I say, taking a long swig of Vitaminwater. I ran six miles before school and my body is in dire need of electrolytes. I can feel it. I hate getting up early to train, but it’s a million times better than waiting until the afternoon. I’d much rather be hanging out or studying with Harper and Luke, but skipping is not an option. I made that stupid mistake only once and that was enough for me. My parents were the kind of pissed that bypasses the yelling and screaming phase and goes straight to the silent treatment and punishment. They gave me a training session the next day that made my legs shake for an hour. A twelve-mile run followed by five hundred push-ups, a thousand sit-ups, and two hours of Krav Maga. Pure hell.

In most households, I’m pretty sure that’d be considered child abuse. But what was I supposed to do? Call Child Protective Services? Tell them my parents forced me to work out for six hours because they’re operatives for a part of the CIA the world, even most of the US government, doesn’t know about and I’m training to be an operative too? I don’t think so. So every morning, I pull my butt out of bed at five on the dot to train before school.

Genre

Purchase Info

Hardcover: $16.99
ISBN 9781250084118

E-book: $9.99
ISBN 9781250084125

Read Excerpt

Praise

"This is my ideal sort of book, full of tension, action, romance, family issues, and a girl struggling to figure out her identity. Kristen Orlando has created a kickass character—literally!—I was won over instantly. I can't wait for the sequel!" —Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times Best Selling author of The Pretty Little Liars series

"This​ ​one’s a page-turner, and the unexpectedly catastrophic conclusion—and lingering promise of sweet​ ​revenge—suggests Orlando, much like Reagan, is just getting started." —Booklist

"Teens who enjoy a little romance and the contrast of normal life that serves to heighten the dream of a teen operative masterfully battling a clearly defined evil will relish Reagan as an impressively powerful heroine. The heartbreaking finale will leave them anxious for a sequel." —VOYA

"An action-packed novel about searching for oneself in the midst of heavy expectations. The violence is plot-advancing rather than gratuitous, while the main character is a strategizing, brave teen who is attempting to find her way both in the moment and into her own future." —School Library Journal

"I couldn't put this book down! I was reading it from my phone, my tablet, and my work computer! It's a fast-paced page turner like The Hunger Games, and Divergent (minus the Dystopian society, which actually makes the book more believable and relatable.) Reagan is a strong heroine, I could picture this as a movie too! I like how the fight scenes felt so real, like we were there as she was counting the yards while running to the barn and into the house, then sneaking down the hallway – my heart was pounding! Definitely a tearjerker at the end, but I like how it all came back full circle, and I can't wait to see the sequel. I hope this becomes a Trilogy!" —Jennifer

"Amazingly fast-paced action thriller in the tradition of Hunger Games or Divergent without the dystopia. Reagan is a heroine worthy of your superb story-telling skills." —Katie Borden

"Loved this book!! Totally swoonworthy. Read in less than a day seriously a page turner. Love the characters so much. The action scenes were my favorite and love Luke and Reagan together!!" —Sasha P.

"LOVED it. Loved every single chapter. Every time i had to put the book down, I found myself thinking about it and wondering what would happen next. I couldn't wait to get back to it. For me, that's the sign of a really fantastic book." —Rosie722

"Wow! My best friend read this book and wouldn't stop talking about it so I wanted to check it out. She was right. It's amazing. It was captivating, thrilling, and emotional. I'm still wiping tears away from that ending. … I think this book is gonna be huge and I could totally see this as a movie. The writing is flawless and beautiful. The story is so exciting and fast paced yet I could totally relate to Reagan's struggle." —Samantha S.

"So glad someone recommended this book to me! Loved, loved, loved it! The writing is stunning and all the characters are so well developed and complex. I absolutely love Reagan and like that the writer didn't make her perfect. Love the tension and story line with Luke and cannot wait to see what happens in the next book." —Kari Lennon

"I really hope there is a sequel to this book! I've been recommending it to friends and family because I loved it so much. The love story between Reagan and Luke is so captivating and you truly feel her emotional struggle. There were parts where I was re-reading the page because I was shocked at the twist in the storyline and the end was so action-packed you felt as if you were there with the characters. … A must-read for anyone who enjoys YA literature with a thrilling storyline and a sweet bond between the love interests." —Rhonda Litton

Latest Update

Report comment

161 comments on "You Don't Know My Name"

Veronica Daley Zaleha on April 18, 2017, 1:54 p.m. said:

Veronica Daley Zaleha


Suspense thriller! Titillating romance! Orlando has it all here! This author's debut young adult novel is one I can recommend to any teen wanting a real page turner. The timeless coming-of-age theme of having to choose between the life your parents want for you and the life you would choose for yourself takes a new twist when those parents are part of a covert and dangerous agency. Very nicely written, Orlando creates admirable, complex characters, flawed heroes, and an edge-of-your-seat plot that will leave you wanting more.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

SMcSaltson on Oct. 25, 2016, 2:21 p.m. said:

SMcSaltson


Oooh me like

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Marlyn Beebe on Oct. 18, 2016, 12:41 p.m. said:

Marlyn Beebe


How does one get an ARC?

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Nadia I. Nitol on Oct. 24, 2015, 4:21 a.m. said:

Nadia I. Nitol


That ending though. It made my guts churn. :(

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Kristen Orlando on Nov. 4, 2015, 8:23 p.m. said:

Kristen Orlando


Thank you so much for reading, Nadia!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Chen Yan Chang on Oct. 13, 2015, 1:17 a.m. said:

Chen Yan Chang


What did you like about the story? Any suggestions on how the writer could improve it?

Wow, what an exciting, action-packed story! I love all the details you've included in the story from the setting to the weapons to the fight scenes. Although there's only a tiny bit of possible romance with Luke in the story, Reagan's love for her parents is more important. It's what makes her determined to go on this rescue mission. What an emotional (sad and angry) end, and I'm curious to see what happens next! I can't wait to read this book again when it gets published :)

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Kristen Orlando on Nov. 4, 2015, 8:24 p.m. said:

Kristen Orlando


Thanks so much for the kind words! So happy you enjoyed the book. Excited for you to read the final version as well.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

MikaylaBurns on Oct. 1, 2015, 3:52 p.m. said:

MikaylaBurns


What do you like so far? Any suggestions on how the writer could improve the story?

I love it so far! I love how you immediately started in on the action!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Kristen Orlando on Nov. 4, 2015, 8:24 p.m. said:

Kristen Orlando


Thanks so much! Hope you enjoyed the rest. Thanks for reading, Mikayla.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Ada Light on Sept. 28, 2015, 4:14 p.m. said:

Ada Light


What do you like so far? Any suggestions on how the writer could improve the story?

A very good start. Love the fight and the frienship.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

1 2 3 ... 15 16 17 >

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.