Share this Manuscript

Last Chance Summer

Description

One camp. Two counselors. One summer to change everything.

see full description

Advance Reader Editions are in!

ON SALE: MAY 26, 2020

Full Description

Alex is a sheriff's daughter with a less-than-pristine reputation. When she's caught drinking at a party by her dad’s deputy, she’s in deep trouble. With an already incriminating incident in her past, Alex’s parents ship her off to her aunt’s summer camp to work as a counselor—lest she spend her senior year at boarding school.

What's worse than spending your summer deep in the mosquito-infested woods of Texas?

Being paired with an obnoxious co-counselor who wants nothing to do with you.

Alex is determined to make the best of her summer, even if it means putting up with Grant, who has secrets of his own that he's determined to protect. Can Alex and Grant put their egos to the side and find the bright side of a summer that neither of them signed up for?

Excerpt

Grant chuckled, plopping into the chair across from me. “At least Loraine paired me up with someone with a sense of humor. I’ll give her credit for that.”

“That was nice,” I said, looking at him.

“Nice enough for you to request a job change?”

“A bet is a bet,” I said, scratching my arms.

Littered with red splotches from all the mosquito bites, keeping that bet would be even harder now. These stupid mosquitos were like raptors on crack.

“Quit scratching,” he said, drawing my attention.

“They itch.”

“You’re in Texas at the beginning of June. What did you expect? Mosquitos are our state bird.”

His hat hit the table, messy strands of chestnut colored hair poking out on either side of his head. He raked his hands through them, smoothing them down.

“What possessed you to go out there anyway? Did you just see the woods and think wow that looks like a great place to go?”

“I was giving myself a camp tour, since you failed so epically at it earlier,” I said.

“You could’ve stuck with something easy like touring the Junction or finding the mess hall.”

“I was trying to find the pavilion,” I said. “It was the only thing not centrally located and, because it was stuck out in the woods, it seemed like the most challenging thing on the map.”

“You like a challenge?”

“That’s how I roll.”

Genre

Praise

Surviving Adam Meade:

"The banter between characters is engaging and will keep even reluctant readers invested in the story . . . Fans of Sarah Dessen will enjoy this." —School Library Journal

"A sweet, yet complicated romance that will appeal to teen romance readers . . . Adam is dreamy and has a unique vulnerability that will appeal to female teen readers . . . Perfect for fans of Katie McGarry, Simone Elkeles, and Sarah Dessen." —VOYA