2018 books header

A Look Ahead at Swoon Reads 2018

Now that we've only got a couple more days left in 2017, it's high time to start looking ahead at all the good things to come in 2018. We're pretty sure the 22 (whaaat) Swoon books that are coming out next year count as a Very Good Thing™. Take a gander at all the members of Swoon Reads Class of 2018 and fill up that TBR of yours!



9781250123619_FC.jpg

You Won't Know I'm Gone by Kristen Orlando

Reagan has to prove herself to an elite group of special agents—and avenge her mother's death—in the second book in the Black Angel Chronicles, following You Don't Know My Name.

Why We Love It: Reagan is a butt-kicking, self-reliant girl trained to be an elite spy her entire life. She can run, she can shoot, and she can take down any enemy with her Krav Maga skills. Reagan holds her own in a dangerous life.



9781250136121_FC.jpg

Let's Talk About Love by Claire Kann

Alice, afraid of explaining her asexuality, has given up on finding love—until love finds her.

Why We Love It: Alice is a biromantic asexual black woman, and her love interest Takumi is Japanese-American, so we love the diversity in this one. And Alice has one of those voices that sticks with you long after you've read the last page.



TheseVengefulSouls_CVR_final.jpg

These Vengeful Souls by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

Evelyn and her friends navigate tense battles, stunning revelations, and the limits of their own powers in this thrilling conclusion to the These Vicious Masks trilogy.

Why We Love It: Evelyn has always been a strong female character with a lot of agency, but in These Vengeful Souls she really gets to shine by becoming a true leader and heroine in her own right.



9781250100429_FC.jpg

Dreamer by L.E. DeLano

A teen writer is forced to choose between multiple realities and saving the boy she loves in this sequel to Traveler.

Why We Love It: Each life that Jessa jumps into is unique, amazing, and appealing in it's own special way, from the more realistic ones where she is a talented dancer to those more obviously fantastic, such as Finn's Victorian-era Pirate reality.



BTY_LD_Hands.jpg

Bound to You by Alyssa Brandon

A teen werewolf finally meets her destined soulmate only to discover that he's not quite what she expected in this steamy debut romance.

Why We Love It: While there are many adult romances about alpha males and many YA titles about redeeming a bad boy, Alyssa has crafted something that sits solidly in the middle, with a strong teen protagonist who owns her sexiness and is willing to face down the emotionally tortured hero so that they can both earn the happily ever after they deserve.



suitors_and_Sab_cover.JPG

Suitors and Sabotage by Cindy Anstey

Two young people must hide their true feelings for each other while figuring out who means them harm in this Regency romance from the author of Love, Lies and Spies and Duels & Deception.

Why We Love It: Despite also being a sweet love story, Cindy's work is also full of exciting action and intrigue. Readers will be left on the edge of their seats both by the budding romance between Imogene and Ben as well as all the trouble they face together.



A_Prom_to_Remember_final_cover.jpg

A Prom to Remember by Sandy Hall

7 seniors. 7 different stories. One Senior Prom. Sandy Hall, author of A Little Something Different, explores a classic high school celebration through many different viewpoints in this YA novel.

Why We Love It: A Prom to Remember pairs the intriguing structure of Love Actually and Valentine's Day with the relatability and high school focus of a John Hughes classic.



GCLYB_forKC.jpg

The Game Can't Love You Back by Karole Cozzo

When Eve, a star pitcher, is forced to join a new baseball team, she has to contend with rival pitcher Jamie, who's just as cute as he is insufferable.

Why We Love It: Karole balances her signature sense of humor and distinctive voice with a new, sexier, and edgier story with romance at its core.



airports_exes_final_cover_0oUIyA0.jpg

Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over by Shani Petroff

A teen girl is stranded at an airport with her cheating ex in this new comedy of errors from the author of Romeo & What's Her Name.

Why We Love It: Shani excels at creating highly-relatable heroines for whom nothing goes right and EVERYTHING goes wrong... in the funniest way possible, of course!




BRIGHTSIDE_SUNGLASSES_updated_ywISpNl.jpg

The Brightsiders by Jen Wilde

After being labeled the music world’s newest celebrity trainwreck, a bisexual teen drummer has to find a way to be true to herself in the midst of family betrayal, relationship drama and the ever-present paparazzi attention.

Why We Love It: A bisexual teen drummer, a trans-male lead singer with anxiety, a gender-neutral blogger, and a gay lead guitarist. The Brightsiders is filled with a truly diverse case of utterly relatable characters crafted by an own voices author.



LSTT_Chairs.jpg

Love Scene, Take Two by Alex Evansley

A young author and the lead actor of her novel’s upcoming film adaption fall in love over an amazing summer weekend.

Why We Love It: Who doesn't dream of being a New York Times bestselling author with a movie star in love with her? This novel is the best kind of wish fulfillment.




LoveMeNot_comps3.jpg

Love Me, Love Me Not by SM Koz

A teen in foster care has to decide whether to risk her placement with a great family when she falls for her foster brother.

Why We Love It: Koz's book deals with difficult issues of abandonment and the foster system, and as a foster parent herself, she does a great job capturing the ups and downs of being a foster kid.



TBB_Rainbow_Bracket.jpg

The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista

Eight boys, sixteen dates, one perfect boyfriend. In this contemporary romance, a teen girl tries to get over her crush on her older brother's best friend by designing a boyfriend bracket.

Why We Love It: Kate is putting her own spin on the classic romance trope of falling for your older brother's best friend / your best friend's little sister. It's a special kind of forbidden romance that has depth built on past history and family bonds and changing relationships.



The_Supervillain_and_Me_final_coevr.jpg

The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas

A girl with no special powers teams up with a so-called supervillain to investigate an insidious plot in their city in this action-packed debut.

Why We Love It: Just when you thought there was no new way to approach the superhero genre,The Supervillain and Me takes the classic pop-culture mythology and turns it on its head, focusing on a main character without superpowers.



BetweenFrostFury_CVR.jpg

Between Frost and Fury by Chani Lynn Feener

Snarky, sarcastic, and definitely not happy about being back in space, our faux princess returns in this sequel to Amid Stars and Darkness.

Why We Love It: Delaney is an ordinary girl faced with the prospect of becoming queen of an alien planet, but it’s her strength, fiery personality, and tenacity that make her capable of handling the extreme, otherworldly situation she has found herself in.



WLGYD_Lemon.width-600.jpg

When Life Gives You Demons by Jennifer Honeybourn

In this smart and funny novel, Shelby Black tries to juggle school, love, and exorcism.

Why We Love It: From page one, When Life Gives You Demons reminded us of shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Veronica Mars. Jennifer's dry sense of humor makes exorcism funny and accessible.



TIOU_Dandelions_NEW.width-846.jpg

The Impossibility of Us by Katy Upperman

Elise tries to keep her blooming romance with Mati a secret as their families threaten to tear them apart in this contemporary from the author of Kissing Max Holden.

Why We Love It: Katy handles difficult and all-too-timely issues of race and xenophobia with sensitivity and grace.




9781250137876_7O2WCBx.jpg

How to Breathe Underwater by Vicky Skinner

When Kate has to move, she falls for the boy across the hall. Only problem? He has a girlfriend.

Why We Love It: Vicky's relatable and honest teen voice matched with real-life issues give this a Sarah Dessen vibe.




SAM_Truck_IhrffpD.jpg

Surviving Adam Meade by Shannon Klare

Claire, the daughter of a high school football coach, falls for the high school quarterback (and total pain in the ass) Adam Meade in this debut.

Why We Love It: This is the perfect novel for anyone who loves Friday Night Lights and Abbi Glines' Until Friday Night.




tobehonest_new.jpg

To Be Honest by Maggie Ann Martin

A high school senior must live alone with her weight-obsessed mother after her older sister goes off to college in this contemporary novel from the author of The Big F.

Why We Love It: Maggie's snappy voice makes her books perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Julie Murphy.




SoulKeepers.jpg

The Soul Keepers by Devon Taylor

In the afterlife, a boy joins the crew of a ship tasked with ferrying the souls of the dead in this heart-pounding debut.

Why We Love It: Readers won't be able to resist getting swept away into the atmospheric world of The Soul Keepers, and the thrilling action will keep them on the edge of their seats. Stormy otherworld seas, soul-eating monsters, death, danger, and found family... this book has it all.



C&C cover

Carols and Chaos by Cindy Anstey

A lady's maid and a valet become entangled in a yuletide counterfeiting scheme in this Christmas adventure from the author of Love, Lies and Spies.

Why We Love It: Readers looking for a light, fun holiday read need look no further—Carols and Chaos is set at Christmastime, complete with all the delightful shenanigans one would expect.




So, which 2018 Swoon title(s) are you most looking forward to? There is no wrong answer!

Author spotlight

Swoon Reads Staff

For more information, check out the "Meet the Team" section of our About page (swoonreads.com/about).

See More