DtS pub day header.jpg

It's Pub Day for DEFY THE SUN!

The day has finally come, Swooners! Defy the Sun by Jessika Fleck is hitting shelves TODAY!!! If you have been biting your nails ever since finishing Beware the Night (which, same) then your wait is finally over!

Defy the Sun

In this sequel to Beware the Night, Veda is captured and leveraged against her best friend.

Civil war has come to the island of Bellona. Veda Adeline believes in the Night. She’s joined the underground revolutionaries, led by Dorian Winters, and they're determined to overthrow the ruling Imperi and find justice for her people.

Nico Denali, Veda’s childhood friend and maybe-something-more, is one of those ruling Imperi, and he’s just been named heir to the most powerful man above ground.

As the war intensifies, Veda and Nico are leveraged against each other: Veda is above as a hostage of the Imperi and Nico is below, taken by the Night. There's no way Dorian is letting such a valuable hostage go.

The island will burn unless Veda and Nico can come together to rip everything apart. But Nico and Dorian will never trust each other, and Veda's heart might be the biggest casualty.

What people are saying about Defy the Sun:

"A riveting and satisfying conclusion to a two-volume set, with a timely message: teens realize they can’t rely on adults to fix the problems in society, but must do it themselves." —School Library Journal

"Jessika Fleck’s duology is a lyrical adventure with a twisting vein of romance throughout. I was both enchanted and haunted till the very end!” —Erin Beaty, author of the Traitor’s Trilogy

"Engaging, atmospheric, and full of compelling characters, Defy the Sun is a great conclusion to a really great YA fantasy series. Would highly recommend for fans of Hunger Games, Frostblood Saga, and the Matched series." —YA Books Central

Get your copy today!

Author spotlight

Swoon Reads Staff

For more information, check out the "Meet the Team" section of our About page (swoonreads.com/about).

See More