binge reading header

5 Books to Add to Your TBR if You Loved LOVE, VICTOR

Let’s be honest: Love, Victor could not have come at a better time in our lives. A heartwarming show full of all the feels that makes you want to stay inside and binge every episode (and also reach into the TV to pinch Victor’s adorable cheeks—just me?)? Ideal for a time when most of us are still under some form of stay at home order. The other thing that’s ideal for the current situation? Books that make you feel the same way Love, Victor did. Obviously you can read the Creekwood Canon (and I highly recommend it), but if you’re like, “been there, done that,” here are five more books to add to your TBR that will give you the same soft, squishy, romantic, feels as the show!

date me bryson keller cover

Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye

If you, like me, are a HUGE fan of '90s romantic comedies (my absolute favorite is 10 Things I Hate About You and you will not be able to convince me otherwise), then you will adore Kevin van Whye’s book about a teen boy who must date a new person every week—the first person to ask him out on Monday morning—and the boy who makes him feel like maybe their fake dating is a little bit less fake and a little bit more dating. This book is incredibly heartfelt and charming, and the perfect follow up if you’re looking for something to fill the Love, Victor hole in your heart!

the henna wars coevr

The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar

If you know me, you know that there’s nothing I love more than a competitors to lovers romance trope, and this book features none other than two girls who are competing to see who has the better henna skills for a school competition... except they might be accidentally starting to feel something other than a rivalry for each other. It’s basically my catnip! This intersectional book deals with every aspect of the two character’s identities in a complex and compelling way, and I just love how Jaigirdar deals with “issues” without writing an “issue book.” Plus, kissing.

CemeteryBoys_Reveal.jpg

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Okay, I’m cheating a little bit here, since this isn’t actually out until September, but I did say that this was a to-be-read, not a read-this-exact-second (although you should do that with all the other books on this list)! Also there’s no way I could leave off Cemetery Boys—even though it has supernatural elements in a way that Love, Victor does not, it make my insides feel all warm and fluffy in EXACTLY the same way as the show. Julian and Yadriel’s quest to figure out what happened to Julian and how to keep Yadriel’s family safe is fun, spooky, and romantic, and I can’t wait for everyone to be able to read it!

only mostly devastated cover

Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzalez

One of the things I love so much about Victor is that he’s a big doof who doesn’t even know how charming he can be. Enter: Ollie, the hero of this queer spin on Grease, who is exactly the same! I like to think they’d be friends if Creekwood High and Collinswood High ever held a joint school social or something. Regardless, Ollie’s story of love and sadness and then love again will give you all the feels and definitely put a smile on your face.

i'll be the one cover

I’ll Be the One by Lyla Lee

Part of the fun of Love, Victor is just that—fun! The show does a great job of mixing a slightly more serious discussion with just some really fun scenes and dialogue, and I think that Lyla Lee’s novel does the exact same thing. And you just can’t help but root for Skye Shin, the loud, proud, K-pop loving protagonist of the novel. Even for a K-pop novice like me, it’s easy to get caught up in the glittery and often problematic world of music reality tv, and you won’t be able to put this book down.

Now that I’ve added these to your TBR—get thee to a bookstore, and let me know if you have any other examples of books that give you the perfect warm fuzzies!

Author spotlight

Rachel D.

Growing up in rural Oregon, books were my way out. Now, books are my way of reconnecting with my home. …

See More